Androscoggin County Fund

Total applications received in last grant cycle: 19 applications for a total of $163,724 in requests
Grant dollars awarded: $29,957
Average award: $4,993
Percentage of applicants that received grants: 32%
Number of grants awarded: 6
Additional grant dollars awarded through donor-advised fund referrals: $17,290
Application deadline: February 15

Recent grants from the Androscoggin County Fund

Photo: The Androscoggin County Committee includes René Dumont, Marguerite Stapleton, and Candace Sanborn (front) and Chris Delamater, Mike Burke, Holly Lasagna (chair), Sarah Davis (former member), and Dale Morrell. Not pictured: Alice Mogensen and Tamera Grieshaber.

The Androscoggin County Fund was launched in 1999 with a matching gift from Androscoggin Savings Bank. The fund's advisory committee awarded initial grants to the Greater Androscoggin Humane Society, Hilltop Community Gardens, the Abused Women’s Advocacy Project, and other nonprofits in the region.

Since that time, the Androscoggin County Committee has awarded more than $241,000 in grants. The committee is made up of local community leaders who partner with the foundation to build charitable resources to serve the region.

Funding priorities

The Androscoggin County Committee prefers proposals that, among other factors, seek to build social capital by fostering community connections and engaging people in their communities. It is particularly interested in supporting projects incorporating the following:

  • Building community connections, especially among diverse groups
  • Broadening and diversifying leadership and involvement in communities, and assisting communities in developing processes that encourage rather than discourage civic involvement
  • Increasing trust, especially across lines of difference
  • Encouraging people to do more with others rather than just for others.

Other ways the community foundation is serving the region

To make a donation, or to learn more about the Androscoggin County Fund

Please contact Laura Lee, senior program officer, by phone, toll-free, at (207) 412-0838 or by e-mail at

Androscoggin County Committee

Holly Lasagna, Chair, Auburn

Chris Delamater, Vice Chair, Lewiston

Michael Burke, Auburn

René Dumont, Lewiston

Tammie Grieshaber, Lewiston

Alice Mogensen, Auburn

Dale Morrell, Lewiston

Candace Sanborn, Auburn

Marguerite Stapleton, Minot

Shawn Yardley, Lewiston